top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoana .

Book Review: The Illuminated Rumi

Updated: Jan 13, 2021





What was in that candle's light
that opened and consumed me so quickly?
Come back, my friend. the form of our love
is not a created form
Nothing can help me but that beauty.
There was a sawn I remember when my soul
heard something from your soul.
I drank water from your spring,
and felt the current take me


How do I start reviewing Rumi and his poetry? but I am a mere novice at this... And Rumi is... Rumi... I guess I'll just have to let the wave of words take me there.


My beginnings with Rumi weren't conventional, let alone intentional. I was doing my best to survive university, with exams nearing, reports almost due, and cases to be reported. Yet, somehow, I managed to read 40 Rules of Love by Elif Shafak, and that was sufficient to have me hooked to Rumi. His entire being, his perspective and understandings of this mortal life we live, his attatchement to his Beloved and The One and Only.


Many books of Rumi have been shelved since. Albeit, Barks seems to speak more like a modern-time Rumi than the rest, and that... it took me a while to figure.




The Illuminated Rumi was on my TBR list for some time, and I have to be honest here, I postponed reading it only because I had to put an international order... So one day I go to our local bookstore like I casually pass by almost every other day... And to my surprise, there were a couple of copies of this book! I was probably expecting a small handbook, like some of the other prints. Something easy to carry around with me everywhere I go... but I guess I was wrong...


So I grabbed myself a copy and started flipping through the pages of The Illuminated Rumi. I have to admit that Michael Green's choice for illustrated media added a little spice to Rumi's words! I was hooked instantly!



I do not know who
lives here in my chest.
Or why the smile comes.
Am not myself, more the bare
green knob of a rosea that
lost every leaf and petal to
the morning wind.


The book starts with a short commentary by Coleman Barks, about Rumi and his initial meeting with Shams from Tabriz, which was the beginning of an exceptional friendship between those two and the rest of the world (for all they would know). "A grand event in the mystical evolution" as Barks described it.



These illuminations are a deliberate attempt to slow our pace down, to find a sacred space where this can happen. Listen with what Rumi called "The ear in the center of the chest"."Hear", he begs us. "Hear what's behind what I say..."


The book is then sectioned so that each part reflects a stage at which the friendship between Rumi and Shams evolves. Under each section, multiple poems/snippets have been included, through which you could feel Rumi's love, dedication, loss and helplessness.


  1. Who are these two?

  2. The whole catastrophe

  3. Rise up nimbly

  4. Come to the orchard

  5. There is a breathing

  6. I would love to kiss you

  7. The path to blame

  8. I have such a teacher

  9. We have opened you

  10. Come back, my friend


Although The Illuminated Rumi only accommodates a few of Rumi's poems, the concoction of illustrations by Michael Green, along with Coleman Barks' translation makes up a sweet cocktail to soothe the mind and soul



This being human is a guest house. Every morning a new arrival. A joy, a depression, a meanness, some momentary awareness comes as an unexpected visitor. Welcome and attend them all! Even if they're a crowd of sorrows, who violently sweep your house empty of its furniture, still, treat each guest honourably. He may be clearing you out for some new delight. The dark thought, the shame, the malice, meet them at the door laughing, and invite them in. Be grateful for whoever comes, because each has been sent as a guide from beyond.


I truly hope I would learn Farsi and be able to read the original poems! But for now, I'll enjoy the translated Rumi books made available with Barks's translations...



One night a man was crying, Allah! Allah! His lips grew sweet with the praising, until a cynic said, "So! I have hears you calling out, but have you ever gotten any response?" The man had no answer to that. He quit praying and fell into a confused sleep. He dreamed he saw Khidr, the guide of souls, in a thick green foliage. "Why did you stop praising?" "Because I've never heard anything back." "This longing you express is the return message" The grief you cry out from draws you toward union. Your pure sadness that wants help is the secret cup. Listen to the moan of a dog for its master. That whining is the connection. There are lover-dogs no one knows the names of. Give your life to be one of them.


Short Analysis:


  • Book cover: (5 stars)

    • Simple, yet holds a powerful message. The Living ( الحي ): Meaning that He is Alive, within us and all around us. This is displayed within the bird's nest, sending a reminder message to us, that He is there with us, all his creatures on this planet, wherever we are, whatever and whomever we might be


  • Book Structure: (3.5 stars)

    • The book was sectioned based on the distinct aspects of Rumi and Shams's relationship

    • The beginning of each section is blessed with the beautiful commentary provided by Barks

    • There is no list of the poems included (Yes, I know that the titles were only added after editing and translation)

    • Despite the fact that the display of poems is quite artistic, some of the line appear to be haphazardly scattered, making it difficult for the reader to read the poem (you wouldn't know the exact order of the lines)


  • Illustrations: (4 stars)

    • The amalgam of Rumi's poems in different artistic media (drawings, paintings, pictures, and even patterns) bestowed a unique and powerful aftereffect

    • Some claim that Green's choice for artwork was poor, as it doesn't reflect Rumi's background; Alas, I beg to differ. That's the whole point of art! Exploring different cultures and media, in an attempt of finding something new and exciting!


  • The poem collection: (4 stars)

    • I've been entranced with Rumi's word (even though it's been translated) ever since I've come across it. Some have identified Rumi as "my toxic person", though I'm pretty sure they haven't searched beyond his words to perceive the greater picture Rumi's painted with his poems. Some of the poems which have been included in this book are quite good.

    • I recognised some of my favourites (The Guesthouse; My Soul is from Elsewhere) and was introduced to many new ones


  • Poem-translations: (4.5 stars)

    • Coleman Barks's translation of Rumi's poem simply taps that sweet spot. Once you've been served some, you just can't get enough


Final Rating: 4.2 stars /5


I truly enjoy reading the book. It would make a perfect gift and a start for those who are interested in starting to read and engage with Rumi's poems.



All day I think about it, then
at night I say it.
Where did I come from, and
what am I supposed to be doing?
I have no idea
My soul is from elsewhere,
I'm sure of that,
and I intend to end up there.


 


Thank you for reading!

To follow my latest book-reading updates, find me on Goodreads


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page