top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoana .

مراجعة كتاب: وحدها شجرة الرمان ل(سنان أنطون)




I read the book in Arabic, but I doubt I'd be able to contain myself and discuss my experience with this so-called book in an appropriate manner... So bare with me... maybe one day, I'll have the heart to write it in Arabic...


و الملخص يعني...






I truly had high hopes for this book, although it was a random pick off of the shelves. I'm not really impressed with contemporary writing, but for some reason, after reading more about Sinan, I grew more eager to find out what he has to say in this story.


Firstly, I was taken back by how similar the father's attitude (to studying, work, life) and the way he talks to his son is what I know. Is it possible that all Iraqi dads are like that?! (Something worth pondering over)


Sinan barely touched upon the tragedies the Iraqi people had gone through (and still are). I'm not sure I want more, as I tend to stay away from all the political writings. Maybe it was just enough for this short story. Nevertheless, it seemed pointless. It did not add anything. It wasn't going anywhere.


Following up on that, the author attempted to add some "modern" methods of writing. That's where he failed miserably. One of the main points that absolutely did Not impress me, was his jumping between timelines! Once the MC is a child, then he's in college, then he's in the future, then goes back to school... it was absolutely unnecessary.


For all the people who have not met Iraqi people, or been to Iraq, you must keep in mind that the people are quite reserved. They may parrot religious behaviours, but to them, "shame" or "العيب" is something to abide with. This book fails to portray this image. The MC commits disgraceful acts, that the Iraqi community (particularly for those residing in Iraq) would not forgive.


Having said that, for all of you reading my previous reviews, you're aware of my opinion on involving sex scenes in a book. It's just a word fill. It's apparent that our dear author here was simply attempting to paint "modernism in writing" by including the sex scenes. Other reviewers were only concerned with this bit, but the picture Sinan was painting of the Iraqi people should not have been as dishonourable.


Does this story shed light on the misery the country and its people have gone through? Slightly, yes


Does the MC progress well in the story? Not really, no. He plateaued and chose not to go further. He was a disappointment to his father, couldn't follow his "dreams" and honestly was too much of a coward to go further and what's more... was a coward to his lovers.


Was Sinan trying to say that those interested in arts were losers? I'm not sure. There are too many brilliant Iraqi artists out there.


All in all, it's a shame this book received such high reviews. I wouldn't give it more than one star.


The book didn't add much to my knowledge or imagination. The story was just barely retaliating what happened in Iraq... most probably the daily talks of my parents and friends have more content.


One more thing, what truly disgusts me is the filthy street talk that was added to this book. I appreciate the Iraqi dialect utilised to add more authenticity to the dialogues. But the disgusting words و الكلام البذيء المخزي was absolutely unnecessary!


Point is, would I ever read for Sinan again? No.

Would I recommend this book to Anyone? Absolutely not!


Now I need to read something else to undo the damage this book has done 🙄


Final Rating: 1 star/5

Recent Posts

See All
SIGN UP AND STAY UPDATED!

Thanks for submitting!

  • goodreads
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2023 by TheLiteraryDoc.  Created with Wix.com

slytherin-house-sorting-hat-ron-weasley-
bottom of page