top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoana .

... and that's 300 books for 2021!

Updated: Oct 30, 2021


(If you know, you know) ;)


One of my resolutions for 2021, was to finish off as many books off of my TBR list as possible. There definitely was some uncertainty on how many I could or would finish within the span of 365 days. So I started with a goal of 30 books (my annual reading average over the past couple of years).



To my astonishment, those were done in no time! I pushed myself to continue the pace I was reading at (or going a bit further) and with that, the reading goals were on a steady rise.


By the time I reached one hundred and fifty books, I contemplated the thought of stopping there. I have already broken the reading goals I've set myself before. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯


It was Sophie, who encouraged me to keep moving forward and break the 300-book record. The ride wasn't as smooth as some would imagine. It was far more challenging than I expected myself! (╥﹏╥)





/sigh/ Why will I ever learn from previous experiences/plans and simply stop trapping myself in (an almost impossible) situation?!




I did grace myself with a break once I reached the (then) astounding goal of 150 books. I was over the moon! A hundred and fifty books and it wasn't even my initial target! There was a time before when I went through a slump and could not enjoy my reading, with a cup of coffee on my side on a cosy armchair. 2021 is the year to redeem all my past regrets and unfulfilled dreams! 2021 is the year of achievements!



Today, I stand here (virtually) before you all, my audience with pride and joy to announce that I have completed the 300-book challenge! (I even surpassed it)

It truly was a joyous ride! What started as a simple challenge (even I thought was ridiculous), is now an achievement I am proud of. Nonetheless, it wouldn't add much to my resume or much of my daily life (sadly).


I couldn't have done it without me, myself and I (I did the majority of the

reading, you see), Sophie Pendragon, GoodReads, Kinokuniya (our over-spiced bookstore) and of course the one and only BookEnds, without whom it would have been near impossible to exchange books and finish off this pointless journey of mine <3


I will follow this blog post with another, listing my favourite picks (or otherwise) of this years' read list. So stay tuned ;)


 

Thank you for reading!

To follow my latest book-reading updates, find me on Goodreads














15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
SIGN UP AND STAY UPDATED!

Thanks for submitting!

  • goodreads
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

© 2023 by TheLiteraryDoc.  Created with Wix.com

slytherin-house-sorting-hat-ron-weasley-
bottom of page